Log in


In 1929, Dr. Harry E. Bacon submitted to Dr. Collier Ford Martin an organized plan whereby the founding of a local society for the encouragement and dissemination of knowledge pertinent to diseases of the Anal Canal, Rectum and Colon would be established. At that time, Dr. Martin was Vice Dean and Professor of Proctology at the Graduate School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania and his department offered excellent training and research in the field of Proctology. Drs. Oakley W Hermance and Harry Z. Hibshman lent their support to the proposed organization.

As the organizational plan evolved, it provided for the establishment of investigation and scientific research. Educational programs were planned to promote progress and improvement in diagnosis and treatment. Further progress by this group lent encouragement to the organization of societies elsewhere in the United States and throughout the free world. The greatest earliest achievement of this organization was to serve as a supporting organization for the National Society, namely The American Proctologic Society.

In 1932, the organization became known as The Philadelphia Proctologic Society. Officers were elected and regular meetings took place.

In the ensuing years, the Society extended its growth and finally became known as The Pennsylvania Society of Colon and Rectal Surgery. Based on the success of this Society eighteen regional societies in the United States and similar organizations in Vancouver, Montreal, Paris, Rio de Janeiro, Sao Paulo, Santiago, Buenos Aires, Mexico City, Manila, Tokyo and other parts of the world were founded.

At the Council meeting in September of 1992, the Society changed its name from The Pennsylvania Society for Colon and Rectal Surgery to The Pennsylvania Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons to conform with the name of the National Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons. The Society currently meets three times per year for the fellowship including the annual Bacon oration at which time the President—Elect of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons is a featured guest.

2023 - 2023 Executive Council

 PresidentLucas Poggio
 President ElectJohn Park
 Vice PresidentJames McCormick
 SecretarySteven McClane
 TreasurerChris Buzas
 HistorianDanica Giugliano
 Member at LargeNicole Saur
 Member at LargeAvi Galler

Past Presidents of the Society

 2022 Matthew Philp


 Skandan Shanmugan
 2020 Howard Ross
 2019 Benjamin Phillips 
 2018 Joshua Bleier 
 2017 Mark Zebley
 2016 Robert Sinnott
 2015 Steven Fassler
 2014 Kirsten Wilkins
 2013 Bertram Chinn
 2012 Joseph Bannon 
 2011 John Marks


Colon and Rectal Surgery Professional Society


Steven McClane, MD

PASCRS Secretary


Copyright © 2022 Pennsylvania Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software